Celebrating a Lifesaver: Peter Kirkwood of Maroubra SLSC Awarded an AM

Peter ‘Cuz’ Kirkwood, a community figure in surf lifesaving in Maroubra, has been conferred Member of the Order of Australia status for the 2024 Australia Day Honours. 

For over 50 years, Mr Kirkwood’s dedication to training and mentoring surf lifesavers has not only shaped the safety of Australian beaches but has also extended his influence globally.

Notably, his work spans various lifesaving aspects, from coaching beginners to training Olympians. His unique approach to giving equal attention to all levels of lifesavers has made him a well-respected figure in the community.

In 2019, Mr Kirkwood received his 50-year membership with the Maroubra Surf Life Saving Club, establishing his lifelong dedication. His role in the club and the broader Surf Life Saving Australia (SLSA) encompasses a range of responsibilities, from educating youth in water safety to participating in Masters’ competitions.

Peter Kirkwood
Photo Credit: MattThistlethwaiteMP/Facebook

Mr Kirkwood’s efforts have elevated the standards of lifesaving both locally and internationally.

Maroubra’s Pride: A Hub of Lifesaving Excellence

Mr Kirkwood’s AM award is not just a personal achievement but a celebration of the spirit of volunteerism in surf lifesaving. It highlights the critical role lifesavers play in ensuring the safety and enjoyment of Australia’s beaches. This honour serves as an inspiration for current and future generations of lifesavers, reinforcing the importance of commitment, skill, and community service.

Maroubra SLSC, a community cornerstone, continues to be a hub of lifesaving excellence, thanks in part to his contributions. The club’s comprehensive training and education programs, along with its commitment to safety and inclusion, reflect the values that Mr Kirkwood has championed throughout his service.

Member of the Order of Australia

An AM award, or Member of the Order of Australia, is a prestigious honor that has been part of the Australian Honours System since 1975. 

The AM is specifically awarded to individuals who have demonstrated service worthy of particular recognition. This service can be in various fields, including but not limited to community service, public affairs, science, arts, sports, and the military.

The Member of the Order of Australia award is officially given by the Governor-General of Australia. This is done on behalf of the Crown and the Commonwealth of Australia.

The Governor-General acts upon the recommendations made by the Council of the Order of Australia, which assesses nominations from the public. This process ensures that the awards are given based on merit and service to the nation.

Published 26-Jan-2024